News

We are looking for an Honorary Treasurer!
Friday, 15 June 2018

We are looking for an Honorary Treasurer! This is a volunteer role and an amazing opportunity to work with our

Otto by Claire Thomas
Monday, 28 May 2018

Inspired by Henry Lamb and in partnership with Poole Museum and Plain Arts Salisbury, we have just launched a Portrait Competition!

We are looking for a Finds Liaison Officer!
Tuesday, 22 May 2018

We are currently looking for a Finds Liaison Officer to join our team at The Salisbury Museum. Could it be you?

We are looking for a Collections Manager
Tuesday, 22 May 2018

We have a vacancy for a Wessex Museums Partnership Collections Manager. Could it be you?

Museums and Heritage Awards 2018
Monday, 21 May 2018

The Salisbury Museum has just won a major award for the 'Terry Pratchett: HisWorld' exhibition!

Hot off the Press! New Events Booklet
Saturday, 31 March 2018

As thoughts begin to turn to spring and summer we are proud to announce the arrival of a new events booklet..

City Story Project Exhibition
Friday, 06 October 2017

Artwork made by young people on the City Story Project  and inspired by our collections, has just gone on display at the Five Rivers Centre in Salisbury.

Queues for HisWorld
Sunday, 17 September 2017

Saturday 16 September saw the opening of the 'HisWorld' exhibition and we were thrilled to welcome Rob Wilkins, Paul Kidby and a host of Pratchett fans.

Paul Kidby here on opening day
Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Paul Kidby will be signing books and prints at the museum from 2pm - 4pm on Saturday 16 September. Come and meet Sir Terry's artist of choice!

A Sublime Feeling
Wednesday, 09 August 2017

Inspired by 'British Art: Ancient Landscapes', Stage 65, Salisbury Playhouse's Youth Theatre, created a special performance at the museum.

Wessex Museums Secure Arts Council Funding
Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The Wessex Museums Partnership will become one of the Arts Council’s National Portfolio Organisations in 2018.

Steam Cars visit Salisbury Museum
Sunday, 11 June 2017

On one of the hottest days of the year so far, the museum welcomed a group of eleven vintage and veteran steam cars. Car heaven...

Alex Langlands and Peter Ginn
Friday, 12 May 2017

Bringing the fascinating and famous to Salisbury, the Festival of Archaeology offers a unique weekend of heritage, archaeology and living history.

The Annual Pass
Saturday, 18 February 2017

From 1 April 2017 we will stop selling the £8 annual pass. Visitors who would like free entry to the museum for one year will need to become members.

LEGO Salisbury Cathedral from the Meadows
Tuesday, 14 February 2017

On Valentine's Day, around 700 visitors came to help build a life size version of Salisbury Cathedral from the Meadows, 1831 in LEGO.

Photographic Competition
Monday, 02 January 2017

We are in the middle of the rainbow season, so if you take a great photo of a rainbow over the skies of Salisbury, why not enter our photographic competition.

City Story Project
Sunday, 02 October 2016

Following a recent award of £33,100 from the Heritage Lottery Fund, the City Story Project has got off to a creative start.

Rainbow Photographic Competition Entries
Sunday, 18 September 2016

This is one of the Rainbow Photographic Competition entries we have received so far. Watch this space for more beautiful examples...

Fantastic Festival of Archaeology
Monday, 25 July 2016

The weekend of 23/24 July saw the museum open its doors for the Festival of Archaeology 2016.

Spotlight tours of museum
Monday, 06 June 2016

Guided tours of the museum at 2.30pm every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday throughout the summer

Pages